Carlingford Road Race 2015 – Report & Photos

Glenmore AC hosted our annual Michael Fearon & Kevin Marron Memorial 5km Road Race which took place on Friday 7th August through the streets of Carlingford. The juvenile athletes were first to take to the road. They competed in various distance races along the beautiful scenic route. Trophies and medals were given to the top ten finishers in each race which made sure a lot of smiling medal winners left the village later that evening.

A huge array of numerous club colours could be seen with clubs from
counties such as Antrim, Down and Armagh along with our local clubs from
Co.Louth taking to the fast course. With almost 90 juveniles competing it
was set to be a great nights racing. The home straight on Newry Street was
the place to be when the young athletes battled up the slight incline to
create very exciting and close sprint finishes to clench the top
finishing positions.The following are results of the top 4 finishers in each race:

U9 Girls 500m:
1st: Grainne Moran (St.Gerards AC) 2nd: Danielle Brennan (Dunleer AC) 3rd:
Lyndsey Kelly (3-Ways AC) 4th: Emma Mc Carragher (Glenmore AC)

U9 Boys 500m:
1st: Harry Reilly (St.Peters AC) 2nd: Conor Brennan (Dunleer AC) 3rd: James
Stevens (Unattached) 4th: Emmet Gill (Glenmore AC)

U11 Girls 800m:
1st: Niamh Brady (St.Peters AC) 2nd: Hannah Owens (3-Ways AC) 3rd: Lucy
White (Glenmore AC) 4th: Lisa Conlon (Glenmore AC)

U11 Boys 800m:
1st: Caelan O’Hare (3-Ways AC) 2nd: Sean Allen (St.Peters AC) 3rd: Brian
Watters (3-Ways AC) 4th: Mark Litchfield (Mountpleasant AC)

U13 Girls 1000m:
1st: Grace Fitzpatrick (Dunleer AC) 2nd: Anna Mc Ardle (Glenmore AC) 3rd:
Caitlin Caughy (3-Ways AC) 4th: Olivia Hall (3-Ways AC)

U13 Boys 1000m:
1st: Oran Hamilton (3-Ways AC) 2nd: Aidan O’Hare (3-Ways AC) 3rd: Oisin
Lennon (3-Ways AC) 4th: Dara Connolly (3-Ways AC)

U15 Girls 1500m:
1st: Rebecca Wallis (North Belfast AC) 2nd: Kelly Breen (Blackrock AC) 3rd:
Emma Glynn (Shercock AC) 4th: Ciara Quinn (Glenmore AC)

U15 Boys 1500m:
1st: Conor Cumiskey (Unattached) 2nd: Josh Mc Ateer (3-Ways AC) 3rd: Niall
Brady (Glenmore AC)

A huge well done to all juveniles who competed and gave us a great start to
the annual event. Also well done to the rest of our Glenmore athletes who
had strong performances and medalled in their respective age groups: U9:
Jessica White, Saoirse Mc Bride, Katie Mc Donald, Aine O’Reilly, Leah
Dunne, Dearbhla Mc Bride, Sophie Cumiskey, Ruairi Traynor, Ultan Gill, Conall Quinn. U11:
Ava Brady, Orlaith Daly, Chloe Mc Carragher, Anna Dawson, Jenna Rice,
Caoimhe Mc Bride, James Mc Bride, Fionn O’Reilly, Cormac McCoy. U13: Nicole Barry,
Breanna Savage, Blathnaid Murphy, Caitlin Savage, Katie Mc Guinness, Laoise
Mc Guinness, Milly Rice, Trinity Larkin, Daragh Brady, Shaun Quinn. U15:
Maeve White.


Over 280 athletes participated in the fast 5km which finished in the village where the usual atmosphere greeted all who finished. This fast course attracts top quality runners with the first 10 runners all finishing in under 16 minutes and the top 90 runners all under 20 minutes. Congrats to all who completed the course. A special thanks to the late Michael Fearons sons James & Michael who presented the prizes.

This road race has consistently grown in numbers over the past years due to a number of reasons; the athletes who return every year, the location of the course but most of all because of the unsung heroes, those members & friends of the club too numerous to mention who steward to those who provide the now famous apres race food. We would also like to thank our official starter, Tommy Neary,Mary & John McGeown & the Carlingford, Omeath Red Cross. Glenmore AC salutes you!

Raheny Shamrocks Freddy Keron Stuk led the runners home through Tholsel street to the finish in 14.46minutes followed by clubmate David Rooney (of the Omeath clan) in 14.48 with Paddy Hamilton of Slieve Gullion in 3rd place & Daragh Greene, Dunleer AC 4th. David, Paddy & Daragh were all previous winners of the race as was Freddy. The course record still stands from 2013 with a time of 14 minutes 26 by Martin Fagan. Our own Shane Toner came home in 15.52 and won the Francis O’Reilly Perpetual cup for the first Glenmore runner home. Catherine O Connor, East Down AC, was the first female to the finish in 17.55 followed by Ann Lindon, Carrick Aces, Karen Crossan, Raheny Shamrock & 4th Gillian Burns, Dromore.

The following are the 5km category places:

F40: 1. Mary Leech, Drogheda & District, 2nd Yasmin Canning, Drogheda & District, 3rd Joan Neery, Dunleer.,

M40: 1st Brian McCluskey, NER, 2nd Conor Currran, North Belfast Harriers, 3rd Simon Allen, NER.

F45: 1st Debbie Matchett, Ballydrinn Harriers, 2nd Diane Wilson, Dromore, 3rd Diane McKee, Dromore.

M45: 1st Nigel McKibbin, Dromore, 2nd Michael Stewart, Dromore, 3rd Brendan Reid, NER

F50: 1st Geraldine Branagh, Dromore, 2nd Maggie Griffith, Waterford AC, 3rd Rosemary Long.

M50: 1st David O’Connell, Bohermeen, 2nd James Wallace, North Belfast Harriers, 3rd Martin Duffy, Drogheda & District.

F55: 1st Patricia Brown, Newry City runners, 2nd Nuala Reilly, Drogheda & District, 3rd Pauline Crompton, Dromore.

M55:1st David Clarke, North Belfast Harriers, 2nd John Patience, North Belfast Harriers, 3rd Laurence Johnston, North Belfast Harriers.

M60: 1st Jim Newberry, North Belfast Harriers, 2nd Conor Cooney, Drogheda & District, 3rd Pat Rocks, Newry City Runners.

M65: 1st Stephen O’Hanlon, 2nd Gerry Carroll, Drogheda Boxing Club.

FU17: 1st Rioghnach Catney, Beechmount Harriers, 2nd Caitlin Mulholland, St Gerards, 3rd Tara McGuinness, Ardee & District, 4th Seaghna Campbell, Dunleer.

MU17: 1st James Smyth, East Down ac, 2nd Tadhg Leahy, Glenmore AC, 3rd Ethan Dunn, Dromore, 4th Odhran Catney, Beechmount Harriers.

FU19: 1st Rachel McKenna.

MU19: 1st Caolan Daly, Armagh AC, 2nd Harry Rafferty, Armagh AC, 3rd Luke Finlay, St.Peters.

Male Masters teams: 1st North East Runners, 2nd Drogheda & district, 3rd North East Runners.

Vet teams Female: 1st Dromore, 2nd Drogheda & District

Vet teams Male: 1st NER, 2nd North Belfast Harriers.

The winners of the Michael Fearon Cup went to the North Belfast Harriers ( Andrew Annett, Mark McKinstry, Conor Curran, John Black) with North East Runners in 2nd and East Down AC 3rd. The Kevin Marron Cup went to Raheny Shamrocks (Karen Crossan, Jenny O’Sullivan, Blaithin Sheil, Aine Crimin) with Dromore 2nd and Drogheda & District 3rd.

We would like to especially congratulate our own seniors who participated in this highly competitive race: Shane Toner,(winner of Francis O’Reilly Perpetual Cup) Ciaran Walsh, Tadhg Leahy (U17 2nd ), kenneth McBride, Aaron Cumisky (who also ran 42 mins in Annagassan 10km last week), Patrick White, Stephen O’Connor, Fiona McQuade, Gavin White, Sarah Dooney, Ali McEnhill (also ran Rock n’ roll half marathon last week with teammate Karen Neary), Kinga Byrne, Lorraine McCann, Gabrielle Hanlon, Llyod Byrne, Aidan McCoy, Eamonn Conlon, Barry Woods, Rose White, Laura Hoey, Vicky Leahy, Denise McElroy, Siobhan & Annmarie Rice.

Results are available on website.

Road race sponsored by